Missouri REALTORS® Descend on Washington, D.C.

By John Sebree posted 17 days ago

Missouri REALTORS®,

What a week we had on our annual trip to Washington, D.C. for the 2019 National Association of REALTORS® Legislative Meetings & Trade Expo, May 13 - 18. I’d like to highlight notable events which took place throughout the conference.

Capitol Hill Lunch
Over 120 Missourians attended our state lunch on Capitol Hill with U.S. Senators Roy Blunt and Josh Hawley!


RPAC Turns 50
We celebrated the 50th Anniversary of RPAC in grand style over the course of the week. At the RPAC Awards Ceremony, Missouri REALTORS® was recognized as a recipient of the RPAC Presidents Cup Award. This prestigious award recognizes that Missouri has reached all of its RPAC and Grassroots goals at the national level. Many of our local boards were honored as well. In addition, we had nine Missourians inducted into the RPAC Hall of Fame at this meeting. Their respective categories are listed below:

$25,000 RPAC Hall of Fame
  • Bob Bax, St. Louis
  • Andrea Lawrence, St. Louis
  • Marc Levinson, St. Louis
  • Sam Licklider, Missouri REALTORS®
  • Brenda Oliver, Kansas City Regional 

$50,000 RPAC Hall of Fame
  • Lynn Farrell, Bagnell Dam
  • Larry Keating, Jefferson City Area
  • Sharon Keating, Jefferson City Area
  • Richard Mendenhall, Columbia 

Board of Directors Actions
During the May 18 meeting, the NAR Board of Directors approved a three-year extension of the $35 per member annual special assessment to fund NAR’s national ad campaign. This extension will continue the campaign through 2022.

The board also approved the 2020 NAR budget with no dues increase.

Election of Officers
Directors elected Charlie Oppler of Franklin Lakes, NJ, as the 2020 NAR President-Elect. Leslie Rouda Smith of Dallas, TX, was elected as 2020 NAR First Vice President.

There were additional action items considered at the Board of Directors meeting regarding MLS Policy, Housing Finance, and Disaster Insurance, among others. To learn more, view a full report of action from the board of directors meeting.